The Scenic Rim is rich in history, with the traditional families of the Yugambeh region of South East Queensland, including the Mununjali, Wangerriburra and other tribes coexisting and caring for the beautiful land that they have lived on for thousands of years.
The natural beauty of the landscape has long been celebrated for the untouched rainforests, waterways, valleys and mountain ranges that were once active volcanoes.
Following European settlement, the region’s towns became a mecca of the dairy, agriculture, timber and horticulture industries. From 1882 -1887 railway lines were built to the Scenic Rim, connecting them and encouraging farming and closer settlement. This line was known as the Dugandan line.
Tourism boomed in 1920 with Lamington National Park gaining attraction from visitors from nearby towns, travelling to immerse themselves in the abundant wildlife and nature. Tourism continued to grow and the iconic cabins at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge became available from 1933.
The Scenic Rim was named by adventurer, naturalist and tourism pioneer, Arthur Groom in the mid 1900s. He was describing the chain of mountains around the valleys between Brisbane and Tamborine Mountain and then it was known as the Scenic Rim.
Since then, the region’s natural beauty has continued to attract visitors from near and far and the agriculture and tourism industries have flourished. The natural beauty of the area paired with the friendly and hardworking people of the Scenic Rim have shaped the unique identity of the region that we know and love today.
There are a number of historical museums to visit while exploring the Scenic Rim including the Beaudesert Historical Museum, Harrisville and District Historical Museum, Yugambeh and Templin Historical Village.
EXPLORE THE SCENIC RIM
The Scenic Rim is an easy one hour drive from both Brisbane and the Gold Coast, with daily flights connecting both of these locations with Australia and the world.